The Springboks produced a magnificent display in the final to edge New Zealand 12-11 at the Stade de France to win the men's Rugby World Cup for a record fourth time. Inspired by man of the match Pieter-Steph du Toit, South Africa held firm under pressure and Handre Pollard’s four first-half penalties secured another title to add to those of 1995, 2007 and 2019. Pollard, who was not named in the initial squad, scored all of South Africa’s points. Siya Kolisi became only the second men's captain to lead a team to two Rugby World Cup wins. He said: “This was not about us as players. This victory was for every South African, and we showed what is possible with this diverse team.”

Email Sign up

Email Sign-up

Sign up for all things Laureus

Get regular updates throughout the year